I received an order confirmation from FortuneCookieStore.com. I’m sure I never placed an order there. The odd / worrisome thing about this is that they had my full name, email address, street address, and phone number on the order.
FortuneCookieStore.com seems to be part of a family of companies under e-Commerce Technology Inc. They have websites at ec-t.com and ec-shopping.com. The number of domains they use makes things seem totally fishy.
I called the (non-toll-free) number on their web site, 408-777-9821, got a very helpful receptionist, who remembered me across the 5 calls I placed in the span of 30 minutes. She claimed it was her first day, and actively encouraged me to file complaints / blog about this. Customer support, again, the same person every call, was unhelpful. Claimed to cancel the order, despite the online system showing that it hadn’t been cancelled. Refused to tell me how the order was billed, not even willing to tell me which credit card, if any, and the last four digits of said credit card. Customer support then hung up on me. When I called back again, the receptionist put me on hold, talked to the president, and politely said that she couldn’t help me. So, something fishy is going on.
Googling the companies doesn’t bring up anything weird other than the fact that some of their web sites are blocked due to unsolicited email… not great, but a lot of companies get pegged as spammers these days. Heck, my hosting provider gets hit with that tag sometimes.
Anyway… for being totally unhelpful, FortuneCookieStore.com sucks and e-Commerce Technology Inc. sucks.
If anyone has any suggestions as to what happened here, I’m all ears.
